Emmie Newitt

Winners of 2024 Olivier Awards announced

The winners were announced during the prestigious event at the Royal Albert Hall last night.

olivier awards 2024 winnersTom Francis and Nicole Scherzinger, winners of Best Actor and Best Actress in a Musical for their performances in "Sunset Boulevard".

Hosted by Hannah Waddingham, the Olivier Awards celebrates the best of the British theatre industry with categories like Best New Entertainment, Best Family Show and more. The night's biggest winner was Sunset Boulevard with seven wins, including Best New Musical Revival.

Full list of winners for Olivier Awards 2024 with Mastercard:

New Entertainment or Comedy Play

Winner: Stranger Things: The First Shadow


  • Accidental Death of an Anarchist
  • Stephen Sondheim's Old Friends
  • Vardy V Rooney: The Wagatha Christie Trial

Best Family Show

Winner: Dinosaur World Live


  • Bluey’s Big Play
  • The House With Chicken Legs
  • The Smeds And The Smoos

Best Theatre Choreographer

Winner: Arlene Phillips with James Cousins for Guys and Dolls


  • Fabian Aloise for Sunset Boulevard
  • Ellen Kane and Hannes Langolf for Dear England
  • Mark Smith for The Little Big Things
  • Susan Stroman for Crazy for You

Best Costume Design

Winner: Marg Horwell for The Picture of Dorian Gray


  • Bunny Christie and Deborah Andrews for Guys and Dolls
  • Ryan Dawson Laight for La Cage Aux Folles
  • Hugh Durrant for Peter Pan

Best Revival

Winner: Vanya, Duke of York's Theatre


  • The Effect, National Theatre
  • Macbeth, Donmar Warehouse
  • Shirley Valentine, Duke of York's Theatre

Best Musical Revival

Winner: Sunset Boulevard, Savoy Theatre


  • Groundhog Day, The Old Vic
  • Guys and Dolls, the Bridge Theatre
  • Hadestown, the Lyric Theatre

Best Sound Design

Winner: Adam Fisher for Sunset Boulevard


Outstanding Musical Contribution

Winner: Alan Williams for Musical Supervision and Musical Direction for Sunset Boulevard


  • Tom Brady for musical supervision and arrangements and Charlie Rosen for orchestrations, Guys & Dolls
  • Matt Brind for musical supervisions, orchestrations, and arrangements, Just For One Day
  • Steve Sidwell for orchestrations and Joe Bunker for musical direction, Operation Mincemeat

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Winner: Will Close, Dear England


  • Paul Hilton for An Enemy of the People
  • Giles Terera for Clyde's
  • Luke Thompson for A Little Life
  • Zubin Varla for A Little Life

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Winner: Haydn Gwynne, When Winston Went To War With The Wireless


  • Lorraine Ashbourne, Till the Stars Come Down
  • Priyanga Burford, An Enemy of the People
  • Gina McKee, Dear England
  • Tanya Reynolds, A Mirror

Best Set Design

Winner: Miriam Buether for Set Design & 59 Productions for Video Design for Stranger Things: The First Shadow


  • Bunny Christie for set design, Guys and Dolls
  • Es Devlin for set design and Ash J Woodward for video design, Dear England
  • Soutra Gilmour for set design and Nathan Amzi and Joe Ransom for video design, Sunset Boulevard

Best Lighting Design

Winner: Jack Knowles for Sunset Boulevard


Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical

Winner: Amy Trigg, The Big Little Things


  • Lorraine Ashbourne , Till the Stars Come Down
  • Priyanga Burford, An Enemy of the People
  • Gina McKee, Dear England
  • Tanya Reynolds, A Mirror

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical

Winner: Jak Malone, Operation Mincemeat


Best New Opera Production

Winner: Innocence by Royal Opera House


  • Blue by English National Opera
    Picture a Day Like This by Royal Opera
    The Rhinegold by English National Opera

Outstanding Achievement in Opera

Winner: Antonio Pappano for his role as Musical Director of the Royal Opera House


  • Belarus Free Theatre Company for King Stakh's Wild Hunt at the Barbican Centre
  • Marina Abramović for her concept and design of 7 Deaths of Maria Callas at the London Coliseum

Best New Dance Production

Winner: La Ruta, Sadler’s Wells


  • Broken Chord, Sadler's Wells
  • The Rite of Spring, Sadler's Wells
  • Time Spell, Sadler's Wells

Outstanding Achievement in Dance

Winner: Isabela Coracy for her performance in NINA: By Whatever Means


  • Jonzi D for his artistic direction of Breakin' Convention 2023 International Festival of Hip Hop Dance Theatre
  • Rhiannon Faith for the conception of Lay Down Your Burdens

Best Actor in a Musical

Winner: Tom Francis, Sunset Boulevard


  • David Cumming, Operation Mincemeat
  • Daniel Mays, Guys and Dolls
  • Charlie Stemp, Crazy for You

Best Actress in a Musical

Winner: Nicole Scherzinger, Sunset Boulevard


Outstanding Achievement in Affiliate Theatre

Winner: Sleepova, Bush Theatre


  • Blue Mist, Jerwood Theatre Upstairs at Royal Court Theatre
  • A Playlist for the Revolution, Bush Theatre
  • The Swell, Orange Tree Theatre
  • The Time Machine: A Comedy, Park Theatre

Best Director

Winner: Jamie Lloyd for Sunset Boulevard


Best Actress

Winner: Sarah Snook, The Picture of Dorian Gray


  • Laura Donnelly, The Hills of California
  • Sophie Okonedo, Medea
  • Sarah Jessica Parker, Plaza Suite
  • Sheridan Smith, Shirley Valentine

Best Actor

Winner: Mark Gatiss, The Motive and the Cue


  • Joseph Fiennes, Dear England
  • James Norton, A Little Life
  • Andrew Scott, Vanya
  • David Tennant, Macbeth

Best New Play

Winner: Dear England at National Theatre and Prince Edward Theatre


  • The Hills of California at Harold Pinter Theatre
  • The Motive and the Cue at National Theatre and Noël Coward Theatre
  • Till the Stars Come Down at National Theatre

Best New Musical

Winner: Operation Mincemeat at Fortune Theatre


  • The Little Big Things at @sohoplace
  • Next To Normal at Donmar Warehouse
  • A Strange Loop at Barbican Theatre